Special edition + print here.

The fourth issue of six photographic notebook follows the journeys of five photographers – Julien Magre, Stéphane Lavoué, Léa Habourdin, Fred Stucin and Marine Lanier – from Decazeville to Salasc.

AZIMUT began on 1st March 2017, with 30 photographers relaying each other in stages during a 6 month long walk across France. Each person has freely chosen an itinerary. Taking sunken lanes or tarmac roads, following straight lines or winding curves, the only constraint for the walker-photographers is time: to arrive on time at the agreed meeting point for the next photographer to take over.

These solitary journeyings, a pretext for photography, form a sum of steps and collective images and trace a shared path that will gradually take its final form in six months’ time when the last person reaches a destination.

Through these journeys Tendance Floue wants to enjoy the paradoxical experience of freedom and the constraint of walking. The slowing down of time, the effects of the weather and exhaustion of the body alter the relationship with places that are passed, landscapes discovered and the encounters made possible by this slowness of movement. The dizziness of freedom, the light-headedness of this rare opportunity for time for oneself and for other people, the unaccustomed intensity of one’s gaze on one’s surroundings are equally transforming.

This new project by Tendance Floue was designed to be resolutely outward looking. Thirty photographers, including eighteen guests of the collective, took part in the experience, conversing with writers, designers, painters, scientists and other guests invited to accompany them for a few hours or a few days. In the course of their travels they explored hidden, out-of-the-way places in the French regions. AZIMUT results from the preparation of the shared creative project, the desire to practice photography and documentary freedom and to confront the unknown.

The photographers :

Pascal Aimar ● Thierry Ardouin ● Denis Bourges ● Antoine Bruy ● Michel Bousquet ● Guillaume Chauvin ● Gilles Coulon ● Olivier Culmann ● Pascal Dolémieux ● Bertrand Desprez ● Gabrielle Duplantier ● Grégoire Eloy ● Laure Flammarion ● Léa Habourdin ● Mat Jacob ● Marine Lanier ● Stéphane Lavoué ● Julien Magre ● Bertrand Meunier ● Yann Merlin ● Meyer ● Julien Mignot ● Marion Poussier ● Kourtney Roy ● Mouna Saboni ● Clémentine Schneidermann ● Frédéric Stucin ● Flore-Aël Surun ● Patrick Tourneboeuf ● Alain Willaume

PRESS REVIEW : Le MondeL’IntervalleArteFrance Culture

Azimut collection :

#A : Bertrand Meunier, Grégoire Eloy, Gilles Coulon, Meyer, Antoine Bruy

#Z : Marion Poussier, Denis Bourges, Pascal Aimar, Alain Willaume, Patrick Tourneboeuf

#I : Flore-Aël Surun, Mat Jacob, Kourtney Roy, Pascal Dolémieux, Michel Bousquet

#M : Julien Magre, Stéphane Lavoué, Léa Habourdin, Frédéric Stucin, Marine Lanier

#U : Clémentine Schneidermann, Mouna Saboni, Guillaume Chauvin, Yann Merlin, Gabrielle Duplantier

#T : Olivier Culmann, Laure Flammarion, Bertrand Desprez, Julien Mignot, Thierry Ardouin

La Souris
Société des Auteurs des arts visuels et de l’Image Fixe – Saif
Galerie Folia
ITF Imprimeurs


Julien Magre, Stéphane Lavoué,
Léa Habourdin, Fred Stucin et Marine Lanier

Texts coordination : Cécile Cazenave
Graphic design
Justine Fournier
Tendance Floue
Number of pages
64 pages
215 x 325 mm
20€ (+shipping)
Release date
april 2018